​About Us

The Transport Control Board (TCB) was established in 1955 to control, regulate and administer road service licenses for the operation of bus services. The TCB consisted of a Chairman and four members who were appointed by the Governor then, Sir Ronald Garvey.

The beginning of this new transport industry necessitated the release of functions and responsibilities for registration, and licensing of motor vehicles and drivers of the Principal Licensing Authority in 1962 by the Commissioner of Police, to the Controller of Transport & Civil Aviation. This formed the basis of the establishment of the Department of Transport and Civil Aviation, the latter, being the responsibility of Colonial Secretary up to that point in time.

The Land Transport Authority was established under the Land Transport Act 1998 under section 6(2) "A body corporate". The six LTA Regulation 2000 came into effect on 10th July 2000.

The LTA was created to improve financial management and operation efficiency through effective management systems and improved incentives for human resources. LTA combined the operations of the Transport Control Board (TCB), Central Traffic Authority (CTA) and Principal Licensing Authority (PLA) under the administrative arm of the Department of Road Transport to be a commercially oriented entity with strict accountability guidelines. Finally, to be operate as a successful commercial business and uphold Government policy on deregulation.

The Land Transport Authority’s core functions are:

  • Establishment standards for registration and licensing of vehicles and drivers
  • Develop and implement effective and efficient enforcement strategies consistent with road safety and protection of the environment.
  • Develop traffic management strategies in conjunction with relevant authorities
  • Develop and improve customer service levels in all areas of operations
  • Ensure equitable and affordable fare schedule for all Public Service Vehicles